Posts Tagged Taryn Miller

tour preview: Your Friend

your friend

Dorothy isn’t the only cool thing from Kansas. Your Friend, aka Taryn Miller, resides there. Her deviant folk must be inspired by the sparseness and flatness of the state. When I drove cross-country with a friend after college, driving through that state truly creeped me out. You could go so far without seeing another car. Just flat openness. Not pleasing to an agoraphobic. Fortunately that setting generates some superb music, art and writing.

Your Friend released its debut album Gumption [Domino Recording Co.] on January 28, 2016. Your Friend’s intriguing compositions lean toward celestial, escapist and magical. Her melodic vocals remain grounded with wisdom and lucidity. Miller likes utilizing loops and found sounds in her music. She said: “I paid attention to textures. I was trying to remove myself from an approach that I had followed before, but to be able to bring in that melodic element that is most inherent to me, and marry it with a more sonically meditative landscape.” If you like Warpaint, Perfume Genius and Chelsea Wolfe, you’ll definitely like Your Friend.

Ps. when did it become a thing to be a solo artist but utilize a band name?

Your Friend is currently on tour with porches and will play in Seattle, Los Angeles, Minneapolis, Detroit and in Cambridge at the Middle East Downstairs on April 12. For more information check out The Middle East website.

TOUR DATES:

Mon. Mar. 21 – Denver, CO @ Lost Lake *
Tue. Mar. 22 – Salt Lake City, UT @ Kilby Court *
Wed. Mar. 23 – Boise, ID @ Treefort Music Fest *
Thu. Mar. 24 – Portland, OR @ Analog Café *
Fri. Mar. 25 – Seattle, WA @ Vera Project *
Sat. Mar. 26 – Vancouver, BC @ The Cobalt *
Mon. Mar. 28 – San Francisco, CA @ Rickshaw Stop *
Tue. Mar. 29 – Los Angeles, CA @ The Echo *
Thu. Mar. 31 – Santa Ana, CA @ Observatory – Constellation Room *
Fri. Apr. 1 – San Diego, CA @ Che Café *
Sat. Apr. 2 – Phoenix, AZ @ Rebel Lounge *
Sun. Apr. 3 – Albuquerque, NM @ The Co-Op *
Tue. Apr. 5 – Omaha, NE @ Slowdown *
Wed. Apr. 6 – Minneapolis, MN @ 7th St Entry *
Thu. Apr. 7 – Madison, WI @ UW Student Union *
Fri. Apr. 8 – Grinnell, IA @ Grinnell College – Gardner Lounge *
Sat. Apr. 9 – Chicago, IL @ Bottom Lounge *
Sun. Apr. 10 – Detroit, MI @ Majestic Café *
Mon. Apr. 11 – Toronto, ON @ Horseshoe Tavern *
Tue. Apr. 12 – Boston, MA @ Middle East Downstairs *
Wed. Apr. 13 – Brooklyn, NY @ Music Hall of Williamsburg *
Thu. Apr. 14 – Philadelphia, PA @ Union Transfer *
Fri. Apr. 15 – New York, NY @ Bowery Ballroom *
Thu. May 5 – Kansas City, MO @ Middle of the Map Festival

* with Alex G & Porches

Advertisements

, , ,

Leave a comment

new music: Frameworks; FEMME; Your Friend

Frameworks, “Branches”

–perfect for a Sunday. smooth and inviting. house beats that burst euphorically yet subdued. EP out now. British downtempo and instrumental hip hop producer Matthew Brewer aka Frameworks released the EP Branches [Loci Records] on November 20.

FEMME, “Gold”

–upbeat and bold. fantastic song. dance-able and empowering. Femme says about writing the song: “I wrote “Gold” after spending many days watching ABBA videos and late nights dreaming of Shirley Bassey. It’s about being blinded by someone’s immaculate golden veneer to the point of not realizing you may not be in love at all.” EP out now. debut album out in the spring.

 

Your Friend, “Come Back From It”

–Taryn Miller is the talent behind Your Friend. Lovely blissful melodies and murky-cool lyrics. Her debut album GUMPTION [Domino] is out January 29. Of the video, Miller says: It was freezing, and wild. He (the motorcycle driver) was weaving between highway traffic and at times, splitting the space between semis. It all came together at the very end of my trip, and was a really lovely way to leave after seeing what so many endured. There was this juxtaposition of the time that I arrived, and the night before I left. The streets were empty on my first day there, and it was exhilarating to be riding back into the city like that, and to have witnessed such resilience during such a dark time.”

TOUR DATES (w/ Porches & Alex G):
Wed. Mar. 9 – Washington, DC @ Rock & Roll Hotel
Thu. Mar. 10 – Richmond, VA @ Strange Matter
Fri. Mar. 11 – Carrboro, NC @ Cat’s Cradle – Backroom
Sat. Mar. 12 – Savannah, GA @ Savannah Stopover Festival
Sun. Mar. 13 – Orlando, FL @ Backbooth
Mon. Mar. 14 – Tallahassee, FL @ Club Downunder
Sat. Mar. 19 – Dallas, TX @ Spillover Music Fest
Mon. Mar. 21 – Denver, CO @ Lost Lake
Tue. Mar. 22 – Salt Lake City, UT @ Kilby Court
Wed. Mar. 23 – Boise, ID @ Treefort Music Fest
Thu. Mar. 24 – Portland, OR @ Analog Cafe
Fri. Mar. 25 – Seattle, WA @ Vera Project
Sat. Mar. 26 – Vancouver, BC @ The Cobalt
Mon. Mar. 28 – San Francisco, CA @ Rickshaw Stop
Tue. Mar. 29 – Los Angeles, CA @ The Echo
Thu. Mar. 31 – Santa Ana, CA @ Observatory – Constellation Room
Fri. Apr. 1 – San Diego, CA @ Che Cafe
Sat. Apr. 2 – Phoenix, AZ @ Rebel Lounge
Sun. Apr. 3 – Albuquerque, NM @ The Co-Op
Tue. Apr. 5 – Omaha, NE @ Slowdown
Wed. Apr. 6 – Minneapolis, MN @ 7th St Entry
Thu. Apr. 7 – Madison, WI @ UW Student Union
Fri. Apr. 8 – Grinnell, IA @ Grinnell College – Gardner Lounge
Sat. Apr. 9 – Chicago, IL @ Bottom Lounge
Sun. Apr. 10 – Detroit, MI @ Majestic Cafe
Mon. Apr. 11 – Toronto, ON @ Horseshoe Tavern
Tue. Apr. 12 – Boston, MA @ Middle East Downstairs
Wed. Apr. 13 – Brooklyn, NY @ Music Hall of Williamsburg
Thu. Apr. 14 – Philadelphia, PA @ Union Transfer
Fri. Apr. 15 – New York, NY @ Bowery Ballroom

, , , , , ,

Leave a comment

%d bloggers like this: