Women’s History Month: re-Focus on Kathryn Bigelow

Kathryn Bigelow (1951- ]

Bigelow and Streisand

–First woman to win Academy Award for Best Director [only four women have been nominated in 81 years]for The Hurt Locker.

–She is the first woman to win the Directors Guild of America award for Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Motion Pictures. In addition, Kathryn Bigelow won Best Film and Best Director at the 2010 British Academy Film Awards and was nominated for a Golden Globe.

–Bigelow was born in San Carlos, California and is an only child.

–She was a painter and had a fellowship at the Whitney Museum in New York.

–Bigelow earned a masters degree from Columbia University, where she studied film theory and criticism.

1982 The Loveless
1983 Born in Flames
1987 Near Dark
1990 Blue Steel
1991 Point Break
1995 Strange Days
2000 The Weight of Water
2002 K-19: The Widowmaker
2008 The Hurt Locker — winner of Best Picture, Academy Awards

%d bloggers like this: